A B O U T   T H E   P A R A M U S   R E S C U E   S Q U A D

 

Originally formed in 1952 as part of the borough’s Civil Defense and Disaster Management, the Paramus Rescue Squad has evolved into one of the Northeast’s respected Emergency organizations. In 1990 the squad gained international recognition by taking first place in the International Extrication Competition held in Florida. Most recently the squad has taken first place overall in both the 1996 and 1997 Mid-Atlantic Regional Extrication Competition.

Read more about Our History...

Paramus Rescue Squad has entered the age of viral (we hope)
Please see our video that we produced recently for our Installation Dinner presentation.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ScAmwpmOFQY
copy link to a browser if it does not open.
Credit belongs to Lt. Peter Braun for his time and effort to produce, and the members who participated in the filming.

 

O U R    T R A I N I N G

Each Regular member is fully trained in the following skills:

  • Heavy Rescue Technician
  • Extrication
  • CPR
  • First Responder / Emergency Care
  • Haz-Mat Awareness and Operational  Level
  • Confined Space Awareness and Operational Level
  • Incident Command System
  • Bloodborne Pathogens
  • Defensive Driving

A majority of members have completed Firefighter 1 and 2 training

100% of Squad members are EMT/D (defibrillator) certified

Additional training of specific team members include:

  • Hazardous Materials Technician
  • Confined Space Technician
  • Collapse Structure Training 
  • Trench Rescue

Several members are also certified Rescue Instructors, teaching at the Bergen County EMS Training Center.

2 0 1 5   C O M M A N D  S T R U C T U R E

CHIEF (70)
John Pecoraro
jpecoraro@paramuses.org

CAPTAIN (71)
Jonathan Massari

jmassari@paramuses.org

1st Lieutenant (75)
Steven Ference
sference@paramuses.org

2nd Lieutenant (76)
Michael Ellsworth
mellsworth@paramuses.org


President
Skip Cherven
skipcherven@yahoo.com

Vice President
Dave DeSimone
davetallys@yahoo.com

Treasurer
Peter Pecoraro
Pfpecoraro@yahoo.com

Secretary
Santa Crisall
Santa4247@verizon.net

WEB Master
Susan Lazzaro
orazzals1@gmail.com


O U R   E Q U I P M E N T

O U R   M E M B E R S

 

 

©2007 Paramus Rescue. Web site designed by Susan Lazzaro